Monday, June 22, 2009


Photo Courtesy of Funnimetric

Underwater Hockey. Pop Rocks and Pepsi. Michael Jackson and Paul McCartney.

Each are examples of how two already entertaining or enjoyable things are made even more amusing by putting them together.

And now to be added to that list: Pride and Prejudice and Zombies.

"Co-authored" by Jane Austen and Seth Grahame-Smith, Pride and Prejudice and Zombies is the classic Regency Era tale of Elizabeth Bennett and Mr. Darcy, only now it occurs in an England plagued by the Undead and protected by citizens with sharpened martial arts skills.

As to be expected, hilarity ensues.

Grahame-Smith's additions fit surprisingly well with the original story though--Elizabeth and Darcy do still end up together albeit after some intense battles with the "sorry stricken"--and apart from some small overlooked grammatical errors, the novel is a funny, satisfying read.

Fans of World War Z and The Zombie Survival Guide by Max Brooks and Breathers by S.G. Browne will especially appreciate it.

Really, anyone who has ever watched Dawn, Day or Shaun of the Dead will appreciate it.

So it the spirit moves you (pun intended?), pick up a copy in the store today!

No comments:

Post a Comment